Minutes of the General Body Meeting at the 27th IAGRG Meeting Venue: Auditorium, HNB Garhwal University, Srinagar; Date, Time: 08.03.2013, 6 p.m.

The General Body of the IAGRG met on 8th March, 2013 at 6 p.m. in the Auditorium of the H N Bahuguna Garhwal University, Srinagar (Garhwal), during the 27th IAGRG meeting. The GBM was chaired by the President of the IAGRG, Prof. Narayan Banerjee. Forty four participants of the meeting (including many IAGRG members) attended the GBM.

The meeting began with the presentation of the audited accounts statement and a welcome to all new members. The Secretary also mentioned the actions taken on the decisions at the last GBM held in January, 2011.

The minutes of the last GBM and the audited accounts of the IAGRG were confirmed and accepted by the members.

The following suggestions of the IAGRG Council, which met earlier during the 27th IAGRG meeting, were discussed. The resolutions arrived at are listed below.

(a) Membership rules: It was decided that the membership rules will remain unaltered. However additional information about an applicant may be sought by the Council, as and when required.

(b) 15th VR Endowment Lecture: The 15th VR Endowment award lecture will be held in Nagpur in 2013-14. Dr. Sanjay Sarve will be the coordinator along with other IAGRG members from Nagpur. Other alternate venues like Gandhinagar (Gujrat Ganith Mandal) remain in consideration and will be utilised in future for organising the lecture.

(c) 28th IAGRG meeting: Suggestions were sought about the venue of the next IAGRG meeting to be held at the beginning of 2015. According to priority, the listed venues are: (i) RRI, Bangalore, (ii) CUSAT, Kochi, (iii) Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh, Assam. A final decision will be taken in the next few months. Dr. Sumati Surya has been requested to look into the possibility of organising the meeting at RRI and inform the Council.

(d) ICGC2015: IISER, Mohali was proposed as the venue for ICGC2015 which will have 100 years of General Relativity as its theme. Dr. Jasjeet Singh Bagla was contacted and he has agreed to look into the possibility and confirm soon. The Council will also decide on the SOC Chair of the meeting, subsequently.

(e) Increase in honorarium for awards: It was decided that the VV Narlikar Best Thesis Prize will henceforth be worth Rs 5000 (instead of Rs 1000, as of now). In addition the thesis competition will be held in every IAGRG meeting. The VR Endowment Award will also carry an honorarium of Rs 10,000 from now onwards.

(f) New awards: Two new awards were proposed :- one for lifetime achievement (teaching and research in gravitational physics) and another for an outstanding young researcher in gravitational physics. It was decided that we begin with the award for an outstanding young researcher. The upper age limit for this award will be 40 years and the award will consider research done after Ph.d. The Council will frame the rules and other details related to this award.

The meeting concluded with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Minutes prepared by Sayan Kar, Secretary, IAGRG Council.